Saturday, March 5, 2011


Believe it or not, I have actually written my memoirs. After I finished that project, I wondered to myself, “What can I do next?” That's when I came up with an idea. I remembered the character of Sister Mary Olga Fortitude which I had developed in order to entertain a colleague of mine while I had been working as a social worker.

That's when I developed the character of Sister Mary Olga. I soon began to develop the other zany characters until I had created an entire cast. I would call up my friend and I would leave her voice-mails during which I would create spontaneous outlandish and hilarious scenarios. She loved it and that gave me a lot of joy!

At the point when I had finished my memoirs, I thought to myself, I bet I could write a book about these crazy characters! So I sat down and I wrote a “The Misadventures of Sister Mary Olga Fortitude” in a little over a month. The thing was, I still had more, I wrote another. Guess what? I hadn't run out of ideas yet! Over the course of the next two years I wrote nine novels in the series and I still haven't run out of ideas!

Around the time that I was getting ready to have the first book published, I asked my mother-in-law if she would pose in a nun's habit as Sister Mary Olga on the cover of my book. You see, to me, she embodied my mental concept of what Sister Mary Olga should look like. She said, “Sure, Davis! I'll do it for you!”

Unfortunately she passed away before that could happen. As she lay on her deathbed, I said to her, “Jan, I'm going to get you on that cover one way or another!” Thanks to the marvelous illustrator for my cover, that person was able to create a nun's habit over her picture. Once that was done, I dedicated my first book to her.

Only in my wildest dreams would I have thought that I would become an author! Yet suddenly I began to write as if it was my full-time job. If you wonder what I'm doing now, I'll tell you. I'm polishing the other books in the series so that they will be fine and outrageously funny gems like the jewel of this first book that I've created. You can now read the newly-published first sequel. It's called Babes in Bucksnort..

After the second sequel, I travel back in time to trace Mary Olga's journey from the time she was dunked into the baptismal tank at the Bucksnort Baptist church up until she became a Catholic and later became a nun. I continue to move forward in time which has given me the opportunity to create many more delightfully zany characters as well as to trace the history of the endearing characters you'll be enjoying in this first book.

I must admit that I'm going to be leaving you hanging after the second sequel, but don't worry, I'll pick up the current story line later. I don't think I'm about to run out of ideas for a very long time! Sister Mary Olga and her friends have taken on lives of their own. That's given me a joyful sense of purpose in my own life.
Author Davis Aujourd'hui

You can obtain either of Davis's Novels in Paperback or Kindle Format.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.